MLC School Council

The MLC School Council provides a link with the school’s ownership, namely the Uniting Church in Australia, and is the guardian of the vision of the School’s Founders.

The Council is responsible for determining school policy, monitoring performance, and maintaining relationships with external bodies such as government. The Council comprises 11 members. The Council currently has several standing committees including Master Planning and Finance, Audit and Risk Committee.

Chair of MLC School Council, Pauline Johnston

Mrs Pauline Johnston (Blight, 1988) is the first woman and the first former student to hold the position of Chair of MLC School Council. Pauline became a member of the School Council in June 2001 and has held the Chair’s position since February 2010.

Pauline attended MLC School from 1983 – 1988. As a Senior Prefect in her graduation year, she was very involved in the life of the School. An outstanding academic performance resulted in her being awarded Dux of the School in 1988.

Upon graduation, she took up Actuarial studies and achieved a Bachelor of Economics and then Master of Economics from Macquarie University, and a Graduate Diploma in Applied Finance and Investment, from the Securities Institute of Australia.

Her remarkable career in finance has spanned companies including MLC Life, Morgan Stanley, Tillinghast-Towers Perrin and Asteron Life. She formerly held the position of Managing Director, RGA Reinsurance Australia and New Zealand, with leadership responsibilities in Japan and South Africa.

In May 2013, Pauline joined AMP where she was appointed Group Executive of Insurance and Superannuation, and was responsible for AMP's risk insurance, retail superannuation, investment, pensions and platforms business portfolio for almost five years. Pauline is a member of Chief Executive Women, a member-based organisation, comprising over 200 of Australia’s leading business women.

Pauline is married with three young children and is a member of the Uniting Church.

MLC School Council

  • Chair

    Mrs Pauline Johnston
  •  Member

    Mr Colman Chan
  •  Member

    Ms Kylie Bryden-Smith
    BA Communications
  •  Member

    Mr Kent Crawford
    BA, Bachelor Theology, MICDA
  •  Member

    Dr Suresh Cuganesan
    BCom(Hons), MCom(Hons), PhD
  •  Member

    Ms Ita Farhat
    BEng (Elec), MAICD
  •  Member

    Ms Joanne Hawkins
    BCom, LLB, Grad Dip CSP FCIS 
  • Member

    Ms Fiona Hollier
    BSocStud, BA, ATCL Member

  • Mr Adrian Jameson
  • Member

    Mr Howard Packer
    BA, LL.B, MPS
  • Member

    Ms Lynn McNally
    BEc (Hons), MBUS
  • Member

    Dr Paraskevi (Eve) Tsironis
    MB BS
  • Ex-Officio Member

    Miss Anne Empson